I just received an email from a friend, suggesting that I book tickets to hear a pianist in concert on a forthcoming Sunday morning. “It’s the most divine experience & you will bless me for telling you about it” she said, so I booked to see/hear Jeffrey Siegel and the Piano Conversation and will report back.

Another recommendation this week, from Helga Henry, a member of our eiClub at Editorial Intelligence. who kindly put in my hand the brochures for two things which had not yet been fully on my radar.

A friend in publishing regularly recommends titles or just puts a copy of a book she thinks I might like in the post to me, and the trust I place in her personalised, customised choice is generally rewarded: I usually like what she sends, and I usually make what noise I can by word of mouth and on social media about the author.

I already bless my actor friend before even seeing Jeffrey Seigel because she has helped me overcome the tyranny of of indecision, of choice, of finding jewels in the jetsam and flotsam of possibilities which swirl past us every second.

These recommendations are not just acts of generosity, they are acts of curation and of navigation. The value of being directed with a friendly guiding hand towards something which is enjoyable, and which keeps you smart and up to speed is, I believe, a defining element of connection today.

So send someone you know an email, or put a note on a leaflet and stick it to a postcard and put it in the post to someone you like with a note: “I thought you might like this”. And do you know, they probably will.

